Share

 

Admission Talk and Interview Arrangement for 2020 Intake

CUHK has decided to cancel the CUHK Orientation Day for Undergraduate Admissions on 30 November 2019 (Sat). Nevertheless, you are welcome to browse the website of our Department, as well as the website of Office of Admission of Financial Aids, CUHK (Website: http://www5.cuhk.edu.hk/oafa/) to know more information related to admission.

In order to enhance the understanding of secondary school students on social work and our social work programme, we will conduct another series of activities, including admission talks and visit to social service organizations in May - June 2020. Participants will have the opportunity to meet our social work students/alumni, and teaching staff to understand more about the learning of social work in CUHK during the admission talk. Details will be announced in due course.

Furthermore, our Department prepared the "Introduction to Social Work and Social Welfare" free online learning course for students who are interested in our social work studies to know more about social work's ideologies, values and working strategies. Students may use the QR code in the below poster, or the link below, to access the online teaching platform "KEEP" for registration and participate in the online course for free.
https://course.keep.edu.hk/course/236043

Poster

The JUPAS admission interview for 2020 will tentatively be scheduled in early June 2020 and mid/late July 2020 respectively. Invitation for the interview will be sent to students who selected our programme as one of their Band A choices in JUPAS, via mail or email.

Please feel free to call 3943-7490 (Attn: Ms. Ho) or 3943-8783 (Attn: Mr. Ip) if you have any enquiries.

We look forward to have you to join our big family!


Admission Requirements

Admission to the University's undergraduate programmes can be obtained through various channels. Students may apply for admission via the Joint University Programmes Admissions System (JUPAS), Non-JUPAS (Local and International) Admission Scheme and Mainland Students Admission Scheme. For details, please visit the website of Office of Admissions and Financial Aids of the University: http://www5.cuhk.edu.hk/oafa/ or contact us.

 

CUHK Social Work JUPAS Programme Code: JS4874

Students who graduate from the Department are qualified to be Registered Social Worker (RSW) in Hong Kong. They can take up professional posts at the Social Welfare Department, the Hospital Authority or in non-governmental organisations. With the holistic curriculum, particularly its strong emphasis on relationship building and critical thinking, some of our graduates are able to develop careers in fields such as education, business administration, marketing and media.

 

Minimum Requirements for Admissions to the Programme
(Applicable to students with HKDSE results):

Applicant shall have:

  1. Applied for at least four core subjects and two elective subjects in Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education; and
  2. Obtained the following results:
    • Chinese Language: Level 3
    • English Language: Level 3
    • Mathematics: Level 2
    • Liberal Studies: Level 3
    • Two electives: Level 3

(Applicable to students on the strength of qualifications other than HKDSE through Non-JUPAS Admission Scheme)

 

Applicants shall possess any of the following qualifications:

GCE-AL/International-AL/ IB/ Other high school qualifications

  • GCE-AL/International-AL (passes 3AL/ 2AL+2AS in one sitting)
  • International Baccalaureate Diploma
  • A recognised non-local qualification which qualifies them for admission to a university in the country/region where such qualification is originated (e.g. high school diploma plus SAT in USA, UEC/ STPM in Malaysia, ATAR in Australia, OSSD in Canada, GSAT in Taiwan)

 

Post-secondary qualifications

  • Completed at least one year of undergraduate study at a recognised university
  • Completed at least one year of study leading to the qualification of associate degree/higher diploma or its equivalent 

 

HKALE

  • HKCEE, grade E or above in at least seven subjects; and
  • HKALE, grade E or above in at least 2 AL and 2 AS subjects (one of the two AL subjects may be substituted by two additional AS subjects. AS subjects refer to all AS subjects under HKALE including Chinese Language & Culture and Use of English)

 

Apart from meeting the minimum requirements, students interested in social work are expected to have a fair degree of sensitivity towards and knowledge about current social issues, and some enthusiasm in serving the society and helping people. It matters little whether an applicant is a "science" or "arts" student, the most important thing is that he/she is willing to serve people.

Volunteer experiences are certainly valuable and helpful that can heighten your interest in serving others, enhance your understanding of the meaning of help and the professional spirit and ethics of a social worker. If you have rich experiences in volunteer services or school services, and have taken an active role in these services, you may apply for admission through the "School Principal's Nomination" scheme. Nevertheless, lack of volunteer experience will not jeopardise your chance of admission to the Department. In fact, many of our social work students actively engage in volunteer services after they have joined the University.

 

[back to top]

 

Q&A

Q: I have never been a volunteer, and do not have the related experience.
    Will this affect my chance of being admitted to the Programme?

A: Basically, a lack of volunteer experience will not affect students' chance of admission. In addition to the courses offered in the regular programme, the Department of Social Work also provides students with opportunities of understanding different social services. Volunteer work is useful both for personal growth and skill training.

 

Q: I am a Science student, am I suitable to study Social Work, which is a humanity subject?

A: Of course, it is suitable for you to do so. The Department of Social Work has set no restriction on the admission of students to the Programme with regard to their secondary school training background. The Social Work Programme has emphasised analytical ability. All students with different training backgrounds are welcome.

 

Q: Is interview necessary to be admitted to the Social Work Programme in CUHK?

A: Yes, it is necessary for all students to participate in the interview and be admitted to the Programme. Only Band A JUPAS students (students who place CUHK's Social Work in their first three choices) will be invited to attend the interview. The interview is normally scheduled to be taken place after the release of HKDSE results and after the modification of JUPAS choices. For Non-JUPAS applicants, the interview is normally schedulded to be taken place from February to July.

 

Q: What is the purpose of the interview?

A: The purpose of the interview is to provide a channel for both parties to know each other. Teachers will assess whether students are suitable to study social work at the time of interview. Also it is a good chance for the potential students to know more about our Social Work Programme.

 

Q: Do I have the chance to do my field work practice in social welfare agencies in the forthcoming four years?

A: The third and fourth years students will be asked to do their field work placement in different setting, such as the Social Welfare Department, non-governmental organisations, Hospital Authority, and schools, etc. At the moment, some students will have the chance to complete their overseas field work placement such as in Canada, Singapore, Mainland China.

 

Q: What is the career prospect of the Social Work major students?

A: The employment rates of our graduates have continued to be favourable. Most of our graduates work in the social work or related fields or pursue advanced education in the social work field.

 

Q: Will there be any employment opportunity if I do not want to be a social worker?

A: The employment opportunity for social work students is good. All social work major graduates are qualified to become registered social workers. Of course, social work students have the option to choose the right kind of job. For example, they can become teachers, business managers, marketing representatives and reporters, etc.

 

Q: I am considering study Social Work. Yet I am not sure if my understanding about social work is correct.

A: The department of social work has launched a MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) named “Introduction to Social Work” at https://course.keep.edu.hk/course/236043. You may enroll the free course to check with your understanding and expectation in social work.

 

[back to top]

 

Change of Major

Students who would like to change their major of studies to Social Work should fulfil the following requirements:

 

(1) Regulations set by Registration and Examinations Session (RES):

  1. the student has taken course(s) of at least 6 units with an average grade of not less than B- that would count towards the major requirements of the Programme; or
  2. the admission WGPA score (e.g. HKALE, HKDSE) of the student must be better than the student at the lowest decile who had been successfully admitted to the Programme concerned in the same year that s/he was first admitted to the University; or
  3. the student has attained a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above in the current academic year.

(subject to change, with the announcement by RES as final) AND;

 

(2) Additional Requirement by our Department: Completed SOWK1001 with an average grade of not lower than B-.

Interested students are encouraged to plan for their academic study in this academic year as soon as possible.

The application for program transfer to Department of Social Work starting from academic year 2019-20 was closed. For students who would like to apply for program transfer to social work in academic year 2020-21, please pay attention to the announcement from the website of our Department, as well as the website of the Registration and Examinations Section from mid to late May, 2020.

[back to top]

Share

 

2020 年度入學講座及面試安排 

香港中文大學已決定將原訂於 2019 年 11 月 30 日 (星期六)的本科入學資訊日取消。雖然如此,同學仍可到本系網頁及入學及學生資助處網頁:http://www5.cuhk.edu.hk/oafa/ 了解更多入學資訊。

為促進各位同學對社會工作及社工課程的認識,於2020年5至6月,學系會舉辦一連串活動,包括入學講座及社會服務機構探訪,以促進同學對社會工作的認識。在入學講座當中,我們亦特設與教師、同學及校友對談的時間,以促進各位對社工學生學習的認識。入學講座及社會服務機構探訪的安排將於稍後公佈。

此外,學系亦準備了「社會工作及社會福利簡介」免費網上課程,可供有意有讀中大社工系的同學進一步了解社會工作的理念、價值觀、和工作手法。同學可使用下方的二維碼,或使用以下連結,到網上教學平台免費登記並參加網上課程。
https://course.keep.edu.hk/course/236043

Poster

學系本年度大學聯合招生辦法 (JUPAS) 聯招面試將暫定於 2020 年 6 月上旬及 7 月中下旬舉行。學系將透過電郵及信函,向將本課程放於 A 組別 (Band A) 的同學,發出面試邀請。

如有查詢,歡迎致電 3943-7490 與何小姐,或3943-8783 與葉先生聯絡。

期待各位同學加入社工系大家庭! 

入學要求

申請入讀大學本科課程可循不同途徑。本地學生可透過「大學聯合招生計劃(聯招)」、「非聯招(本地及國際生)入學計劃」或「內地生入學計劃」申請。詳情請瀏覽入學及學生資助處網頁:http://www5.cuhk.edu.hk/oafa/ 或聯絡我們。

 

中大社會工作學系「聯招」編號: JS4874

完成本系的本科課程後,即具備資格申請成為「註冊社會工作者」,於社會福利署、醫院管理局、非政府福利機構等從事專業社會工作。由於社會工作訓練全面,既重視人際關系的技巧,也重視獨立思考的能力,因此社工系畢業生也能加入其他行業發揮所長,例如從事與教育、行政管理、市場推廣及媒體有關的工作。

 

最低入讀要求
(適用於中學文憑試學生):

申請人必須: 

  1. 於香港中學文憑試中報考四門主修及兩門選修科;並
  2. 分別取得以下成績
    • 中國語文 : 三級
    • 英國語文 : 三級
    • 數學 : 二級
    • 通識教育 : 三級
    • 兩門選修科 : 三級

(適用於擬參與非聯招入學計劃的非中學文憑試學生)

 

申請人必須取得任何以下資格:

GCE-AL/International-AL/國際文憑大學預科課程/ 其他高中學歷

  • GCE-AL/International-AL (一場考試中三門AL科目/兩門AL +兩門AS科目取得合格成績)
  • 國際文憑大學預科課程(International Baccalaureate Diploma)
  • 獲發行當地認可符合入讀當地大學資格之非本地學歷(如美國的高中文憑及SAT、馬來西亞的UEC/ STPM 、澳洲的ATAR、加拿大的OSSD及台灣的GSAT)

 

大專學歷

  • 於獲認可大學完成最少一年本科課程
  • 完成最少一年副學士/高級文憑課程

 

香港高級程度會考

  • 香港中學會考, 最少七門科目考獲E級或以上成績;及
  • 香港高級程度會考, 最少兩門AL科目及兩門AS科目考獲E級以上成績(其中一門AL科目可以另外兩門AS科目代替。AS科目包括所有香港高級程度會考之AS科目,包括中國語文及文化以及英語運用)

 

本系收生除了要求同學符合入學的基本條件外,還希望同學對社會及時事有所關心和認識,並具有服務社會及幫助別人的熱忱。至於同學是「文科生」或「理科生」並不重要,重要的是對「人」的工作有興趣。

義工經驗對個人成長有積極的意義。具有義工經驗,將可以使你更容易明白助人的態度,增強助人的興趣,也可以令你更容易體會社會工作者的專業精神。如果你有豐富的義務工作或校內服務的經驗,並且曾擔當領袖的角色,你可考慮透過「校長推薦」的途徑申請入學。另一方面,即使你沒有義工經驗,也絕對不會影響你的入學機會。系內很多同學都是在課餘時間參與義工服務,補足這方面的經驗。

[回頁首]

 

 

常見問題

問:我以前從來沒有當過義工,沒有相關的經驗,對入讀社工系有影響嗎?

答:基本上,缺乏義工的經驗,並不會影響取錄的結果。本系在課程之外,亦會提供不少的義工服務的機會予同學,鼓勵他們在課餘的時間,多汲取相關的經驗,因為這無論對個人成長或是技巧掌握而言,都有著相當正面的作用。

 

問:我是理科生,適合就讀社會工作這一人文學科嗎?

答:當然適合!本系的入讀資格並沒有規定學生在預科時所修讀的學科類別。另外,社工課堂一向著重培養學生的理解能力及分析能力,因此絕對適合理科生入讀。

 

問:入讀社工系之前,必須進行面試嗎?

答:若同學把中大社工系放在聯招的Band A(首三個)位置,本系一般於中學文憑試公佈成績後及完成更改聯招選擇後安排選修的同學參與面試。而參與非聯招入學計劃的同學則將於二月至七月期間獲安排參與面試。

 

問:面試的目的是什麼?

答:面試的目的,乃是讓本系的老師及選修社工系的同學互相認識。即是說,老師於面試時可判斷同學是否適合修讀社會工作,而同學亦有機會認識我們的社會工作課程。

 

問:在四年的大學課程中,我可以到福利機構實習嗎?

答:同學於三年級及四年級的時候,都有機會被分派到社會福利署、志願機構、醫院管理局或學校進行實習,而每次的實習維持半年。近年來同學更可選擇到加拿大或廣州的福利機構實習。

 

問:社工系畢業生的就業情況怎麼樣?

答: 中文大學社工系畢業生就業率十分理想。大部份同學於畢業後從事社工、社會服務及相關職位或選擇繼續進修。

 

問:除了從事社工外,社工系畢業生有沒有其他出路?

答: 社工系的畢業生已具備在本港註冊成為「註冊社會工作者」的條件,擔任指定的專業社會工作職位。畢業生並可在社會福利署、醫院管理局、學校、或非政府機構等任職社會工作者﹔除了成為專業社工外,同學畢業後亦可在不同行業發揮所長﹔有部分畢業生選擇從事其他行業,例如教師、工商管理、市場推廣、公關、藝術創作,和入讀研究院等。 

 

問:我正考慮入讀社工系,但我不是很確定我對社會工作的理解是否恰當。

答:社會工作學系設立了一個網上公開課,名為「社工與社會工作」 (登記網址:https://course.keep.edu.hk/course/236043)你可以註冊這課程了解一下。

 

[回頁首]

 

轉系要求

申請轉系主修社會工作的同學,需達到以下要求:

(1) 註冊及考試組之規定:

  1. 必須已修擬轉讀主修課程的6個學分,成績平均不低於B-;或
  2. 入讀大學時的成績(例如高考及香港中學文憑試成績)必須比擬轉讀課程當年收生成績排名最後10%的同學為佳;或
  3. 現時的所有科目平均積點(Cumulative GPA)不低於3.0。
    (以註冊及考試組最新公佈為準)
    以及;

(2)本系之額外規定:完成 SOWK1001,而成績平均不低於B-。

 

2019-20學年起轉修社會工作的申請安排已經截止。有意於2020-21年度轉修社會工作學系的同學,可於2020年5月中下旬留意本學系及註冊及考試組網頁的最新資訊。

 

[回頁首]